We hope that you never need an Arizona DUI defense attorney, but everybody makes mistakes. Sometimes these mistakes can have extremely dire repercussions, but you can help to lessen or avoid these repercussions if you follow the correct legal procedures. These procedures can be followed right from the point of being stopped for DUI. You can hire the most effective attorney in the world, but if you conducted yourself in the wrong manner during your apprehension and arrest there is very little that legal representation can do for you.
The firs thing that an Arizona DUI defense attorney will advise you to do is to know your rights! If you are stopped for DUI you have the same rights as any person who is arrested. You have no obligation to say anything, and only need present your license and registration. If you say something that can be used against you in court, nothing an attorney does can prevent the damage this can do to your case. If you are asked to take any tests, you have the right to call your attorney. You must submit to a breath test or a blood test, but you may confer with your attorney first. You do not have to submit to any other tests as these are not required by law.
Remember this number: 480-778-1500 and keep it on you at all times. If you are stopped for driving under the influence, the first thing you need to do is call your Arizona DUI defense attorney. You can call the Maasen Law Firm any time of day, any day of the week and we will be ready to answer your call and give you high quality, immediately useful legal advice. Defense attorneys are constantly lamenting the number of convictions that could have been avoided if the client had simply called his or her attorney before speaking to any officers!
Remember that nobody else is going to protect your legal rights when you are stopped for driving under the influence. An Arizona DUI defense attorney is your best hope at avoiding some or all of the charges, and these charges can be fairly severe! For example, the minimum sentence is around $750 in fines, alcohol counseling, license suspension for anywhere up to one year and up to ten days in prison. This is only if you are a first time offender! If you have been caught driving under the influence before, you could be in for a much harder time!
If this is your second extreme DUI offense (blood alcohol level above .15), then you will definitely need the best Arizona DUI defense attorney you can find! The maximum penalty that can be imposed for driving under the influence is $4,000 in fines, alcohol counseling, 1 year suspended license and six months in prison. This is the kind of penalty that nobody can afford to have put on them, and that is why it is always in your best interest to have a good attorney on call 24 hours a day