- Practice areas
- Testimonials and Reviews
- Contact Us
A DUI arrest can potentially turn the accused life upside down. You are suddenly required to understand the legal system and act quickly to protect your driver’s license.
The Maasen Law Firm focuses on driving under the influence (DUI) cases and will aggressively defend your rights. As a result of having experienced trial attorneys and former prosecutors on our staff, we have an intimate knowledge of the maze of rules and procedures necessary to address all negative repercussions an accused driver may encounter after arrest.
An Arizona DUI arrest will trigger two separate cases. One is administrative with the MVD. The other is criminal with the court system. Although each case is the MVD case is far more time-sensitive, requiring immediate attention. Motorists accused of driving under the influence over a .08 alcohol concentration move right to a hearing in Arizona have only 15 days from the date of their DUI arrest to request a hearing with the Arizona DMV. If you do not request a hearing within 15 days your driving privilege will be suspended 90 days, 15 days after the arrest. It is important you contact one of our DUI attorneys to consult with regarding your license suspension issues.
The Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) will suspend your license for a variety of reasons.
These may include:
License suspensions resulting from one or several of the aforementioned reasons can last for months or potentially years depending on the severity or quantity of the violation(s).
Under AZ law, the accused driver has the right to dispute his or her license suspension. In those cases, the state must hold a hearing at the request of a driver whose license has been suspended.
Contact the Maasen Law Firm now to assist you with your license suspension. If a hearing is held the MVD hearing officer will decide if the suspension is valid, the license suspension maybe void or reinstated. See our results from previous clients.
After you have satisfied the terms of your suspension your license may be reinstated either online at the DMV website or by simply paying the reinstatement fee.
The cost involved with reinstating you driver’s license varies anywhere from $10 to $250 depending upon the circumstances of your suspension.
If you’re right to drive was revoked rather than suspended a more complex process must takes place in order to gain your driving privileges. Before you can apply for a new driver’s license the MVD must investigate your driving record. Before that investigation can take you must contact the MVD either by phone or in person and order a Revocation packet.
If circumstances permit you may apply for a restricted driving permit, which allow limited privileges to a driver (usually the right to drive either to work or school). However, not everyone may apply for this license, and the requirements vary, so it’s best to consult with one of our attorneys from the Maasen Law Firm for details.
I want to take a moment to thank you for your firm’s handling of my case-in particular, the representation by my attorney. He went over the facts of the case, discussed questions I had regarding the outcome and presented options to consider. His follow-up was brief and handled with the same professionalism. I am truly grateful for all you did for me.
Thank you so much for everything you do for us. You are always so patient and kind and really care. I can’t even imagine how many clients you must take care of, but every time I call, I am treated as if we were your only client, and I just can’t tell you how much I appreciate it.