Click to call 480-778-1500 24/7
Driving Directions

Sex Crime Charges in Arizona

Title 13 of the Arizona Revised Code refers to sex crimes. If you have been charged with a sex crime, you may be thinking that the prosecutor has insurmountable evidence against you. That’s not always correct. Depending on the charge each crime has different elements and punishments. The following information will help you understand more about the sex crime prosecutors are claiming you’re guilty of committing. If you don’t see the sex crime you’re accused of committing, please contact us. We represent all sex crime cases and will fight for you.

Types of Sex Crime Charges in AZ

Prostitution

Per A.R.S 13-3211 and 13-3214 prostitution occurs when a person knowingly offers sexual services in exchange for something of value (typically money).

Sexual Assault (Rape)

According to A.R.S. 13-1406, sexual assault happens when an individual engages in sexual or oral sexual contact with someone without their consent. The individual does it intentionally or knowingly.

Sexual Abuse

A.R.S. 13-1404 includes two types of sexual abuse. The first happens when a person engages in any sexual contact with someone 15 years old or younger. It also may occur if he or she is older than 15 years old, but doesn’t give consent. In both situations, the person must knowingly or intentionally do so.

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

A.R.S. 13-3821 and 13-3824 refers to this sex crime. It occurs when an individual, who is convicted of a certain felonious sex crime, fails to register his or her residence according to state law.

If you need help with a sex crime charge orDriving Under the Influence charge, click here.

Possible Punishment for Sex Crimes

Prostitution

  • Prostitution is a class one misdemeanor. On a first offense, you face:
  • Fifteen days to six months in jail
  • Fines
  • Three years of probation

Sexual Assault

Sexual assault is a class two felony which has a minimum punishment of five and one quarter to 14 years in prison. If you are facing a sex crimes charge, it’s imperative that you seek legal counsel. At the Maasen Law Firm, we have are ready to fight for you. Contact us today.

Sexual Abuse

If you are found guilty of sexual abuse of a minor, it is a class three felony which is publishable by:

  • Minimum of two and half years to seven and half years in prison.
  • If the abuse occurs to someone over 15 years old, it is a class five felony with possible punishment of a year in jail or six months in prison.

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

The punishment depends on the offense. For instance, if you failed to obtain a driver’s license it’s a class six felony with up to one year in jail or four months in prison. Other violations carry are considered a class four felony punishable by up to one year in jail or prison.

Possible Defenses for Sex Crimes

Prostitution

Prostitution has many defenses. One of the strongest one is entrapment where you agree to do something you won’t ordinarily do because of an undercover officer’s actions.

Sexual Assault

A defense to sexual assault includes focusing on whether the person actually consented to what occurred. One possible defense for sexual abuse is that you could not have reasonable known the age of the person.

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

For anyone accused of failing to register as a sex offender, your defense centers on challenging constitutional violations. Another possible defense is showing that you don’t need to register because your job requires you move from county to county.

Have you been charged with a sex crime? It doesn’t mean you are guilty. Our attorneys at Maasen Law Firm are ready to represent you. Call now for a Free Consultation at 480-778-1500.